Leafcard

Frequently asked questions

Don't see your question?

A Virginia Medical Marijuana card is simply the patient identification card you will receive from the Board of Pharmacy once you have been registered as a Medical Marijuana patient in the Commonwealth of Virginia. ​With your card, you will have all of the legal rights and benefits granted to patients under the Virginia medical cannabis laws. We at Leafcard, understand that the medical cannabis laws can be confusing, and that your primary care physician may not be prepared to discuss medical marijuana as a treatment option for your medical condition.

With our streamlined online process, you’ll understand in minutes all the logistics and requirements of getting a medical cannabis card in Virginia. We even help connect you to reputable, licensed doctors that will conduct telemedicine consultations so you can get results from the comfort and safety of your home. Our doctors are fully licensed by the Medical Board of Virginia and operate legally under telehealth and medical cannabis laws. They are HIPAA compliant and maintain the highest level of patient confidentiality.

The following are required when submitting an application to the Virginia Board of Pharmacy: 1) Your application form 2) Your completed Physician Written Certification 3) Your current Virginia issued driver license or state ID (Please be aware that your name and address on your application form must match what is listed on your Virginia drivers license or ID) 4) A non-refundable $50 state application fee

We cannot guarantee approval, as the doctor is the only person that can make a determination. To make it likely that you will receive approval from the doctor, we recommend that you bring as much information as possible to your appointment regarding your medical condition and past treatments.

If you are currently living with a chronic or debilitating medical condition or symptoms, you are likely eligible for treatment with medical cannabis in Virginia. However, before you can walk into a dispensary, you will need a Virginia Medical cannabis card. The easiest way to obtain one is by scheduling a consultation appointment with one of our doctors.

The qualifying conditions identified by the Virginia Bureau of Health include any chronic or debilitating condition that, in the professional judgment of a physician, might be helped by the use of medical cannabis.

A Virginia medical cannabis card shows that your name has been added to the Virginia Medical cannabis registry by a licensed Virginia physician. With this card, you can: 1. Buy medical cannabis from dispensaries in the state of Virginia 2. Possess cannabis and cannabis products in Virginia 3. Consume cannabis and cannabis products in Virginia

Your application will be processed by the Board of Pharmacy within 7-10 days. If your application is approved, you will receive your card within 30 days.

Some doctors charge an exorbitant amount of money just for an initial examination. Once you have been approved by a certified doctor and received a medical cannabis recommendation, you will need to submit an application to the Virginia Board of Pharmacy in order to receive your cannabis card and a $50 state-registration fee. This card will expire after 12 months.

No. When your card expires, the legal protection offered by the Virginia Medical Marijuana Act is expired. You may still submit your renewal application.

Once you have obtained a recommendation from a registered doctor and received your Virginia Medical cannabis card, you will be able to purchase medical cannabis products at any of the licensed dispensaries located throughout Virginia.

Patients may receive up to a 90-day supply per visit at the dispensary.

Because it is not legal Federally, health plans cannot cover these costs. We are not aware of any private insurance providers that cover the costs of medical marijuana at present. If cost is an issue, please reach out to our support staff and we will do our best to offer assistance.

The cost of medical cannabis will be set by each dispensary. At this point, it isn’t clear what those prices will be exactly. With 32 planned dispensaries located throughout the state of Virginia, we hope that the community will keep prices low and affordable so all patients can have access to relief.

Registered agents, or caregivers, are individuals who may visit dispensaries and purchase medical cannabis products on behalf of a patient. All registered agents must first register with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy before accessing dispensaries.

In order to become a registered agent for a patient, you must apply through the Virginia Board of Pharmacy and pay a $25 registration fee.

Yes. Qualified patients under 18 years of age cannot purchase medical cannabis from a dispensary. The legal guardian or parent is required to apply as a registered agent to buy medical marijuana for a minor.

A registered agent may serve no more than two registered patients.

Unfortunately, the answer is yes, they can. Virginia does not provide protection to medical marijuana patients from employee drug testing. It will be left to the discretion of each employer whether they wish to recognize an medical marijuana approval as an exemption to company drug testing policies. However, employers are prohibited from discriminating against an individual in hiring, termination, or any term or condition of employment based on an individual’s past or present status as a caregiver or a qualifying patient.

NO. Patients in Virginia, as well as across the state of Virginia, are prohibited from growing medical marijuana at home under Virginia law. All medical cannabis is required to be purchased from one of the state-approved dispensary locations.

The privacy of our patients is our top priority. We go through great lengths to ensure that all patient information is protected and kept confidential in our HIPAA-compliant electronic file storage system. We will also never share any of your contact information with any third party.

Yes. To be protected under the Virginia Medical Marijuana Act, your medical cannabis must be labeled from one of the Virginia dispensaries.

Can't find the question you have?

Please submit your question(s) in the form below & we'll get back to you in a jiffy